Often our licenses are purchased by a contracted web developer or agency and need to be transferred to the website owner at the end of the project. This document describes the process and the implications of transferring your license to a new owner.
How do I transfer my license key?
- Log in to your Gravity Forms account page, select the license you would like to manage and click Manage License.
- Click the three dots to the right of Upgrade License button then select Transfer from the drop-down menu. Screenshot A .
- A transfer form will appear. Fill out the new license owner information and enter your password. Screenshot B.
- Carefully review the information presented in the “consent to transfer” box and check all boxes to agree.
- Click the Transfer This License button.
What happens for the original license owner?
Once you submit the transfer form, the license will disappear from your license list. Any existing payment methods and scheduled renewals for that license will be canceled and removed. As the license is no longer visible on the Licenses page, you will no longer have any access to historical transactions or active/revoked sites. Even with proof of purchase (e.g. a receipt), you will no longer have any right to the transferred license or its associated data.
Note though that the sites list will not be affected. It is dynamically built, and will transfer “as is” and be visible to the new owner.
What happens for the new license owner?
For the new owner, if the destination account exists under the email provided, then the license will be deposited there and an email sent informing them of the transfer. If the destination account does not already exist, a welcome email will be sent to the email address specified, which will include a link to complete their account registration and receive their license.
Once attached to a registered account, the new owner will be able to see the license key, license type, and expiry date (which will be unchanged). All active sites will also show up unchanged.
The previous subscription is removed, so the new license holder will not be able to see any previous subscription information (payment methods, receipts, historical transactions), and will not be able to see any previously revoked sites.
Renewing or Upgrading a Transferred License
The new license will have no subscription attached, and thus no payment method either. This can affect upgrades and renewals. See below.
Toward the end of the license term, the new owner will receive an email that will enable them to add payment details, which will then renew the license and establish a subscription. You must do this to continue using the license or else it will expire once the renewal date is passed.
Once you have renewed the transferred license, you will have a valid subscription and payment method, and future renewals will process automatically.
A transferred license (that has not been renewed) can be upgraded normally, but note that you will not receive a discount for any unused license term (because the license is not under subscription, there is no payment accumulated to the new owner). Upgrades in this scenario will be at full price, which will be shown before checkout.
Once you have renewed a transferred license, the license will be under a subscription and the new owner will have made payments to their license, which accumulates value that is used to determine a discount on upgrading. See the “upgrading your license” article.